1. Home
Send to a Friend via Email

Hasbro - Game Publisher


Monopoly - Basic Game

Monopoly - Basic Game

Image courtesy of Hasbro / Parker Brothers

The Basics:

Hasbro was founded in 1923 by Henry and Merrill Hassenfeld (it was then known as Hassenfeld Brothers). The company originally sold textile remnants. It soon moved into manufacturing pencils and other school supplies; the first toy manufactured by the company was Mr. Potato Head in the late 1940s.

Hasbro became a dominant player in the game industry by acquiring companies like Parker Brothers in 1968 and Milton Bradley in 1984. Here's a more detailed look at Hasbro's game-related corporate acquisitions.

Best Known For:

The best-known games published by Hasbro and its subsidiaries include Candy Land, Chutes and Ladders, Clue, Dungeons and Dragons, Monopoly, Risk, and Scrabble.

Other Games:

The Hasbro catalog also includes Boggle, Connect Four, Cranium, HeroScape, Hungry Hungry Hippos, Jenga, Magic: the Gathering, Mousetrap, Operation, Sorry!, Trivial Pursuit, Twister, Yahtzee, and many more board games and card games.


Hasbro's toy brands include Nerf, Transformers, Playskool, G.I. Joe, Littlest Pet Shop, My Little Pony, and Tonka.


Hasbro is headquartered in Pawtucket, Rhode Island.

Web Site:

  1. About.com
  2. Home
  3. Board / Card Games
  4. Inventor Resources
  5. Game Publishers
  6. Hasbro - Game Publisher - Board Games and Card Games

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.